

ABN 13 704 877 608 PO Box 44 BONNY HILLS NSW 2445 bhpa@bonnyhills.org.au

Bonny Hills Progress Association

<u>Annual General Meeting - Tuesday 21 March 2023, 7.00pm</u>

Bonny Hills Community Hall

Minutes

Meeting commenced at 7.08pm

Welcome by Chairman

President Roger Barlow welcomed everyone (20)

Members present:

Tony Robinson; Paul Poleweski; Odette Counsell; Bill Howell; Kathy Ragan; Ross Smith; Gordon Gray; Theo and Carolyn. Van der Veen; Melissa and Paul Galland; Judy Love; Helen Smith; Ian and Robyn Richardson; Jock Garven; Dave Hofmeyer; Jenny Daniel; Roger and Pam Barlow

Apologies

John Drinan; Ian Simpson and Florence Williams

Acceptance of Previous Minutes: The minutes have been circulated. They were accepted.

Moved: Ross Smith

Seconded: William Howell

Carried unanimously

Business Arising from Minutes

Nil

2022-23 Financial Report (See accompanying documents)

Paul handed out printed copies for those interested.

Increase in membership fees from \$10 to \$15 for 2023-24 year.

We will be considering ways we can invest our money into the community over the coming year.

Moved: Paul Poleweski Seconded: Odette Counsell Carried unanimously

Annual Report (See accompanying documents)

Reports: (See accompanying Slide Show)

- Overview Roger Barlow
- o 2023 Bonny Hills Art Prize Paul Poleweski
- Houston Mitchell Drive Pacific Highway Overpass Kathy Regan
- Sewerage and stormwater Ross Smith
- Stormwater quality research report Roger Barlow

Election of Office Bearers and Committee members for 2023-24

Ably conducted by Theo van der Veen

Position	Nominee	Nominator	Seconder	Elected
President	Roger Barlow	Carolyn van der Veen	Ian Simpson	Elected unopposed
Vice President	Kathryn Regan	John Drinan	Tony Robinson	Elected unopposed
Secretary	Tony Robinson	Bill Howell	Pam Barlow	Elected unopposed
Treasurer	Paul Poleweski	Pam Barlow	Ross Smith	Elected unopposed
Publicity Officer	Pamela Barlow	Ian Simpson	Carolyn van der Veen	Elected unopposed
Committee member	Bill Howell	Tony Robinson	Pam Barlow	Elected unopposed
Committee member	Ian Simpson	Ross Smith	Pam Barlow	Elected unopposed
Committee member	Ross Smith	Ian Simpson	Pam Barlow	Elected unopposed

Committee member	John Drinan	Ian Simpson	Catherine Potts	Elected unopposed
Committee member	Paul Galland	Roger Barlow	John Drinan	Elected unopposed
Honorary Auditor	Florence Williams			

Theo asked for further nominations for the committee from the floor. None were forthcoming. The 10 nominations were accepted unanimously by the community representatives present.

General Business

- Presentation by Jock Garven, PMHC Citizen of the Year Opting Back into the Community
 - o Principal of Lake Cathie Primary School
 - Music has been a significant influence on Jock's life
 - Celebrated, as a member of a band, the 200 year anniversary of the First Fleet in 1987 in the UK
 - 'Pay it forward' through music, and through giving back to the community, is a motivating theme of Jock's life
 - Various opportunities for the creative arts in schooling wherever possible
 - Volunteer as a member of the WBHSLSC safety coordinator for children (Nippers) on the beach
 - Shared the work opportunities available in initiating and establishing a new primary school at Lake Cathie setting up values and the like
 - Area 14 development will lead to maybe another 250 potential students for the school when it's already at capacity
 - What of the future?
 - Prepare students for their future not ours
 - How to deal with student wellbeing in the current climate of teacher shortages and challenges that they are facing?
 - Shared his acceptance speech for his Citizen of the Year Award at the Glasshouse on Australia Day 2023.

As there was no further business the meeting was closed at 8.40pm

Roger Barlow (President)

Tony Robinson (Stand-in Secretary)